Week in Review: February 5, 2017

menchica

My weekend ended spending time with The Girl. She was upset that Bro’Ham wasn’t with me this weekend. So she was stank. Which means I had to annoy her alllll weekend.

Wait… it’s the week in review. Let me rewind.

Early this week was tough to put it mildly. I am officially transitioning to a different position and to be honest, it’s scary and exciting. I realize it’s a lot different than what I expected, but different is good. It’s forcing me to break into new ways of thinking and new frontiers. I have to lead an all-day meeting Friday. I am not ready. Not that I haven’t prepared, it’s the scope of the project that I underestimated. It’s huge. The part I thought  I managed is about 15% of the total process. Eye-opening the last 10 days. I know I’ll get it, I just have to be patient getting there. So that’s work.

I thought once my kids were grown, parenting would taper off. Nah. Tuesday through Thursday was hard to get through. Tuesday was the worst. Looking back, I’m proud of myself for moving through it and regaining my calm much faster than I normally do. I dreaded what visiting the kids would entail this weekend, but it turned out fine.

Through that experience, I realized that I had to mourn a phase with The Kid. He’s not The Kid anymore. Well… he’s my kid, but it means something else. This week showed me that parenting never stops, but I can choose how I respond to it. At some point, as parents, we have to let go and see if what we think we put in there worked. What I know is that every one of us figured it out and I really have to give my kid and myself space to allow that to happen.

So that brings us back to the weekend. The Kid had to work so The Girl and I got to spend some time together. We went to lunch (that girl can eat!) and then to the Natural History Museum. I took more pictures, but they all look something like this:

chicanme

I bet you can guess I got nothing done for the blog this weekend. Instead we started celebrating The Hero’s birthday early on Sunday. Let’s just say that wasn’t my smartest idea having to wake up at 5:30 a.m. Monday. So on that note, I’m off to take a shower and go to bed. Let’s all meet up again Wednesday when I promise I’ll have a recipe. For humans.

Leave a Reply

