Week in Review: January 29, 2017

Spoiler alert: this post is about my adventures with Bro’Ham 

broham

I survived a week as a new pet parent! I was so happy that I treated myself to donuts Saturday morning. Man… pets are work. People said it was like having a kid, but It’s more than that. The kid can’t talk back to you. And most don’t get in the way when you’re working on projects trying to get caught up on your blog.

Anyway, Bro’Ham is doing pretty good with ‘sit’ and ‘stay’. I realized some of it was my own fault that he wasn’t listening to me. Last night, The Hero showed me how to walk him so that he isn’t pulling. Changed the whole game. For the first time I didn’t regret having to take him out.

We went to PetsMart this week too. Yeah… so… I didn’t realize:

PetsMart:dogs | Chuck E Cheese:kids

I’m in PetsMart, frazzled that I am the only one with the crazy dog who is spazzing out because he hasn’t seen any other dogs (and all the smells!) since the previous week. My dog turned up and he lightweight turned up the other dogs (as much as their obedience training would allow). Dog party. Unfortunately, those pet parents were not happy about it. Neither was the cashier. And can you believe the only person who helped me was an almost-drunk customer? Needless to say we won’t be going back to that particular PetsMart. I’ll go to Wal-Mart first.

I went to war with the pet hair. To avoid you feeling sorry for me, I’ll spare you the details and tell you that the hair won. And Bro’Ham still has not had a bath. That’s my workout Monday night. I’m going to stay positive and believe that he’ll like not smelling like last week’s funk.

Had our first ‘oh yeah?’ incident. Went out to a birthday celebration and came home to a nice pile of crap. Talk about annoyed. Who wants to clean up dog crap at 1 a.m. after having some drinks? Not. Me. Or The Hero. And then… as I’m discovering the funky gift, The Hero lets Bro’Ham out without a leash. Guess who wants to run off? Saturday night was not cool. Not cool at all.

So I’m hoping that this week feels more normal and I can figure out a schedule that doesn’t leave me sleepy, missing workouts and finishing my posts on time.

 

Leave a Reply

