Sealed! DIY Whipped Butter

whippedbuttercream

It’s been almost four days since we got Bro’Ham. To say having a dog is a whole different experience doesn’t begin to describe what being a pet parent means.

I have to feed another living being. Every day. He wants affection and reassurance that he’s okay and a good dog. He follows me around. He’s left a layer of dog hair that has broken my clean freak spirit. Two tongue baths (I am still weirded out by that, but another day). And he’s brought me a real sense of peace and calm.

Bro’Ham being here means a lot of handwashing. A lot. And for some reason, terrible static electricity. I know there’s some correlation between ash and getting the shock of life, so I figure now’s a good time to make some whipped butter.

I’d made a batch before and didn’t love the consistency. The recipe added beeswax, which isn’t something I’ve used before. It felt… waxy. It took forever to liquify and was just all around not a good deal.

This time I had the bright idea to substitute coconut oil for the beeswax. The end result is exactly what I wanted: a light, whipped cream that melts and glides on my skin easily. No more welts from all the rubbing.

Whipped Butter

Ingredients

  • 3 ounces shea butter
  • 3 ounces cocoa butter
  • 4 ounces coconut oil

Measure both butters and the coconut oil into heat safe  medium-sized bowl.  Set the bowl in a pan and add enough water to come about halfway up the bowl. Heat on medium-low until melted. Set aside to cool to room temperature. Using a whisk attachment, blend at high speed until frothy, about 1 minute.

butter1

Refrigerate 10 minutes or until just solid.

butter2

Once solid, using beaters, mix on high speed for 30 seconds to 1 minute or until desired consistency. Store in airtight container.

butter4

Leave a Reply

