Mr. Postman! DIY Notecard Envelopes

diynotecardenvelope

You know how much I care about y’all? A lot. So much that I should actually be finishing up packing and getting ready to head to the airport for my girls’ trip. But I’m here scheduling posts in the midst of a chaotic room. The only clear space right now is what you see in the pictures below. I know. I gotta do better. I mean it’s only week 2 though so cut me a little slack for this post’s basicness.

Last week, I showed you my DIY notecards from all those nice adult coloring pages I’ve done to keep from losing my sanity or freedom. This week’s DIY is the companion envelopes for those snazzy cards.

It’s been a while since I’ve done a picture tutorial so bear with me. I’ve never done a template so it too is basic (read: I literally figured it out a few minutes before I started typing this post). But the project is really simple. The template can be modified to fit a larger card if you need it. Otherwise, your standard notecard should fit.

DIY Notecard Envelopes

  • Template
  • Cardstock
  • X-acto knife or scissors
  • Ruler
  • Glue
  • Embossing tool, optional

Directions

Print the template and trace on the card stock. Cut out the template.

envelope1.png

Using the ruler and embossing tool, score the card stock. This will make the folded edges crisp and easier to fold.

envelope2

Fold the two short sides up. Fold the bottom to meet the shorter sides. Trace the outline where the three meet and glue the bottom to the short sides.

envelope3

Fold the top flap down. The template is versatile. You can opt for a straight edge, cut out the scalloped edge or use a different decorative finish.

envelope4.png

Easy. Now go mail that notecard you wrote last week.

envelope5.png

Leave a Reply

