Week in Review: January 8, 2017

hillsmarket

Well, here we are at the first weekly recap. I’m behind and trying to meet my 11:59 p.m. deadline, so I’m going to sum up the major highlights:

Professional D. I took on some new duties that will help me figure out if it’s time to think about changing careers. I have no end goal, except not to be working well into my 70s. But maybe by then 70 will be the new 50. I’ll put that on my list of things to check in five or 10 years.

Hills Market Wine. I met up with a friend to try some wine at The Hills Market Downtown, the cool grocery store downtown. For $15, we got to try different wines and have some pretty awesome appetizers. Oh… and get nice chair massages to end the week and get the weekend started right.

hillsmarkwt01062017

The Power of a Cut. I’ve been growing my hair out again after having a mini moment. Because of that, I’ve been stretching my barber visits to three to four weeks rather than every two weeks. Every once in a while though, I stretch too long and my hair looks like I belong in the old dusty section of the library. It’s in contrast to my smoking hot daily slay. One trip to the barber shop later and I’m feeling all the bit of my Kelis bossiness.

The Homegrowns. It’s the weekend I get together with The Kid and The Girl and it was pretty amazing. Since I won’t be here, we celebrated The Kid’s upcoming birthday. It’s nice to see the fruits of my honesty labor coming into bloom. The Kid has reached a point where he realizes it’s time to get his life on track. We had a nice long talk before I came back to Columbus. Waiting to see him figure out what he knows he knows.

New Year, New Energy. That New Year’s energy is flowing around these parts. In the past 8 days, I’ve only had sweets once. Granted I went hard, but before I got cookie-wasted, I made conscious choices to minimize cravings. Seven of eight days is pretty fantastic. I’m patting myself on the back.

On a more serious note, new energy can be super exciting. It’s an opportunity to let go of the things in my life that are weighing me down, including guilt, shame, resentment and anger and live in the only moment that matters: right now. Every time I focus on right now, I realize that I’ve never once panicked. Right now whatever I need to address is not literally affecting this moment. It’s a new opportunity to live with intention and intensity. To feel life instead of shielding away from it, its pulses, ebbs and flows and lean into them instead of resist them. There’s a lesson in the lean.

I’m getting close to my deadline. Three things this week: wine, new energy, be present. Go live!

Leave a Reply

