Year of You

12370644_10207429356828778_957061573936616975_o

Want to know what’s inspiring this post?

A bra.

Yes, a bra. A pretty, boobs-on-chin, leopard bra with lace and matching underwear to be exact. All my life I’ve purchased functional, but this one time, I said to myself ‘I’m going for sexy’. I was in that dressing room FEELIN’ MYSELF. Bought two sexy bras. Then got on eBay and bought four more sets. Then I bought a bunch of lipstick. Paid $25 at a quasi-swanky salon to get my eyebrows waxed (it was to change how I see spending on myself for beauty services). I started running and working out again. And the icing on the cake? Went to the beauty salon and got a cut and style. The salon, y’all!

All of that culminated into the second half of my D annual plan assessment. I realized that I plan for everything, except making myself look and feel beautiful for me. Not for anyone else, not for a special event or occasion, but for a Tuesday when I’m going to my regular job to do regular stuff during a regular week.

Enter Year of You. I’ve set up our paychecks that we both get an allowance: 10 percent for the earner, 5 percent for the spouse. Every week it re-ups because someone is getting paid. Anyway, Year of You was born from actually setting aside an allowance. Money that’s mine and I can spend any kinda way.

That’s how I bought the sexy bra you read about a minute ago. My allowance. Oh… and all that lipstick. Umm… probably the brows. Not the salon visit. The family paid for that.

I digress. Anyway, the second half of my year is about the Year of You. Of being selfish in a good way, deepening relationships with my girls. Buying gifts, stationary, a good ass pen, a banging handmade journal. The only reason is because it makes me feel good. It increases me.

So I give you a challenge. What makes you feel good about you? What would it take for you to declare a Year of You for yourself? What’s stopping you from doing it? I gotta say seven bras, 10 lippies, two eye shadow palettes and a pair of boots later it’s one of the best things I’ve done for myself to date.

 

3 thoughts on “Year of You

  1. Pingback: Giving up to Fear | Honesty's Protégée

  2. Love this post and the idea of the Year of You. The misconception that putting your all into everything/one else and thinking that that will fulfill you, to me, is a little misguided and may leave you a little resentful. So, I agree. Bye the bra, try the lipstick, get those boots – if it gets you a little closer to you and involves NO ONE else that’s ok. You deserve it!!

Leave a Reply

