Breakfast Cupcakes

Breakfast Cupcakes

This cupcake is the result of laziness. I  thought I had all of the ingredients on hand for the recipe I had and instead of checking, I proceeded to start mixing anyway. Lo and behold, I didn’t have any granulated sugar and about half of a half of a half of a cup of milk. I know. I should have stopped, but I was already in and figured ‘what’s the worst that can happen?’

In true Dee fashion, I decided to substitute. No regular milk? No problem… I’ll use chocolate to make up the difference. No granulated sugar? Hey… brown sugar is sweet too. One and a half eggs? Eh… egg yolk is about half an egg. Measure the vanilla? That means dirtying up another measuring spoon and I’m not in a dishes mood tonight. Just eyeball it. Annnddd… although I typically don’t eat cupcakes without icing, i’m chalking it up as a loss because I’m not in the mood. Insert moment of silence.

What came out of the oven was simply magnolious. My cousin asked me what it tasted like and I responded ‘Umm… I don’t know. Lol…. They taste like carrot cake without as much spice or carrots, but with something caramel on the back end and a hint of chocolate.’ Can’t imagine what that’s like? Then go bake a batch and have them for breakfast. You’re welcome.

Breakfast Cupcakes (yields about 22 cupcakes)
adapted from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook

  • 2¼ cups (11¼ ounces) all-purpose flour
  • 1½ cups (10½ ounces) dark brown sugar
  • ½ cup (2 ounces) butter, softenened
  • 5/8 cup (5 ounces) milk
  • 5/8 cup (5 ounces) chocolate milk
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp, about, vanilla
  • 3 large eggs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners or grease muffin tins with cooking spray or shortening.

Beat all ingredients on low speed for about 30 seconds. Once combined, beat on high speed for three minutes. Pour evenly into prepared muffin pan.

Bake cupcakes for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and eat warm or allow to cool more and frost with icing. Store in an airtight container.

Breakfast Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

