February 5 for Five

5ForFive

It’s a whole new month and I’ve decided to take a new approach to my 5 for Five. I struggled the past three weeks and had to regroup. Instead of going week to week, I’m going to do the month of February in the hopes of establishing new habits.

Work out 3 times a week

To say I’ve struggled with this would be an understatement. Not only have I not worked out, I’ve eaten everything under the sun too. So instead of beating myself up for not meeting the goal last month, I had to regroup. I don’t want to work out, but I also don’t want to be pudgy going into my 40s. So… that being said, I’m starting out with three times a week and every two weeks, adding another day to the routine until I reach five days a week. I figure that should carry me to March.

Live in the moment

This past weekend allowed me to see a side of myself I hadn’t before. Through an experience, I found out my boundaries in a way that put me in a vulnerable state of mind. My mind imagined so many things happening instead of focusing on what was going on around me and what I was experiencing instead of what was going on that I couldn’t control. So… mindfulness about my own life, not what others may or may not be doing.

Get my nails healthy

When I was a kid, my nails would split from the tip to the cuticle. I thought I outgrew that, but for the last month or so, my nails have not only started peeling, they’ve also just become a soft mess. They won’t grow long and strong as a result of being so thin. This month, I’m going to focus on getting them healthy again. It will take focus, but I’m in. I love my nails.

Fast

The Seahawks just won the Superbowl and in celebration, I just ate a whole order of cheese sticks and spaghetti with garlic bread and chicken wings. That doesn’t count the Keebler Simply Made cookies I had to ‘try’ to write a blog on in the near future or the Lindor chocolates The Hero brought home. Let’s just stop there as I reminisce about breakfast. This week, Monday through Friday, I’m going to only eat fruits and vegetables for dinner and fast during the day. I did it once and I felt great. I’m willing to try again.

Detox

Detoxing goes hand in hand with the fasting. Each week this month, I’m going to take a detox bath. I hate baths, but I’m going to chalk this up and do it anyway. It should make me feel great and help me sleep better, so the worst that can happen is I feel the exact same. It’s a win win.

Are you making goals for February? Check out what other bloggers are doing over at Party of One!

 

10 Comments

  1. I’m with on on needing to work out more, January was a rough month with cold weather and sickness. I hardly worked out at all! So I’m focusing on getting back into a better routine in February as well. I love the idea of your 5 for 5, such a great way to break down your goals. Also I’m hosting a monthly goal link up at the end of each month. I’d love for you to come and link up here http://creativehomekeeper.com/month-january-recap/
    I would love to know how you are repairing your nails, mine have become brittle and breaking too. Keep us posted please!

  2. Try Biotin supplements for stronger nails. I started taking in January 5, 2014. It takes about a month to notice change…my nails are stronger but…now they chip easier because I won’t paint them or put formaldehyde laced strengtheners. My ‘fro is growing out too. 5,000mg a day. Its inexpensive and effective. Also take a multi vite too.

  3. I am SO glad that you are joining me for {5 for Five} this month! I hope that you enjoy it 🙂 I really like your goals- some of ours are actually pretty similar! I’m with you on living in the moment and working out! I like the detox idea- how do you do your detox baths? I’d love to know! We can do this! Thanks again for linking up 🙂

  4. I’ve heard detox baths are AMAZING. I’ve never tried one myself, but maybe one day. I’m big on juicing to detox. In fact I’ve got a 5 day juice detox planned for next week. Here’s to hoping that we both stay on track this month. Good luck to you! Looking forward to hearing about your success 🙂

Leave a Reply

