Cinnamon Baking Chips

Cinnamon Chips

This has been on my list of projects for months. After actually making them, I’m ashamed that it took me this long to get it done. It literally took 10 minutes and that included measuring the ingredients. Shame on me.

Of course, this was born out of necessity. I love Bob Evans’ cinnamon pancakes. Like… love them. I remember going in to get said pancakes and they weren’t on the menu. What the…? Thinking that my poor eyesight finally caught up to me, I asked the server. She verified that said cinnamon deliciousness wasn’t on the menu anymore. Ever see a toddler having a tantrum in a store? That was me. In adult form. Hissy fit because I couldn’t get pancakes. We left.

I looked up the recipe for cinnamon chips, but you know who I am: I had cinnamon and sugar, no shortening or corn syrup. I wanted to cry because by then I’d eaten two Snickers, a short stack of non-chip cinnamon pancakes with bacon and a piece of chocolate cake to try and satisfy my cinnamon chip pancake void. After the binge, I surrendered to my laziness, mourned Bob Evans’ annihilating their menu and gave a moment of silence to all previous cinnamon chip pancake dates I took for granted. Sigh.

Then, months later, something miraculous happened: I had everything to make the cinnamon chips AND time to make cinnamon chip pancakes. It’s a celebration (in my Dave-Chappelle-as-Rick-James voice)!

I’m not a fan of shortening, but I figured that it 1) helped with shelf life and 2) stabilized the chips in a way that butter couldn’t. At heart though, I’m a butter girl, so, you know, it’s in the chips. And the corn syrup had high fructose corn syrup in it so I kinda didn’t feel all that great about using it (after the bottle was almost empty of course), so I made my own sugar syrup. The results were stellar. If you’re a perfectionist, go ahead and cut the chips evenly. I’m not though and it just prolonged making cinnamon chip pancakes.

Cinnamon Baking Chips
adapted from Confessions of a Bright-Eyed Baker

  • 2/3 c granulated sugar
  • 3 tblsp cinnamon
  • 1 tblsp vegetable shortening
  • 1 tblsp butter, softened
  • 2 tblsp sugar syrup (recipe below)

Sugar Syrup

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup water

Combine sugar and water in a small saucepan. Heat over medium high heat until sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat and cool. Store remainder in an airtight container in the fridge.

For the chips

1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Grease lightly with shortening or spray with cooking spray.

2. Combine all the ingredients together in a medium bowl and stir until crumbly. Spread on prepared baking sheet. Flatten with another baking sheet or other large flat surface.

3. Bake chips for 35 minutes. Remove from the oven and cut or break into pieces. Allow to cool to room temperature. Store in an airtight container in a cool, dark place.

Cinnamon Chips

7 thoughts on “Cinnamon Baking Chips

  1. Going to try this! I, too, was devastated the day I opened the Bob Evan’s menu and saw they had removed the cinnamon chips from the menu! I called, wrote letters, sent emails complaining about this “mistake” that had been made by Bob Evan’s! Shortly after, the cinnamon chips were re-introduced to the menu! They listened! Thank you Bob Evans!

  2. Now, how about the vanilla pudding/cream cheese filling that Bob Evans used for the stuffing? Any good recipes out there?
    Mike

  3. Wow I’ve never heard of anything likes this! I always come to your blog and learn something new about a craft or food. It does look extremely tasty though…I can taste those flavors in my mouth- syrup and cinnamon and sugar. MMM

Leave a Reply

