Healthy Banana Bread

Healthy Banana Bread

I guess by nature banana bread could be healthy with the nuts and bananas, but, come on… let’s not fool ourselves. The serving size is about as thin as a cracker and besides those beasty people who have some innate portion control (the ones who can eat one serving of chips without being tempted to eat the whole bag… you know them), the average person doesn’t eat a true serving.

That being said… you’re welcome because you’re going to thank me when you eat this. It’s pure deliciousness and you don’t have to worry about being overly tempted to have another piece. Plus, you get to use up those gross bananas sitting on top of your microwave. In addition to good-for-you bananas, this recipe has ground oats, whole wheat flour, Greek yogurt and honey. Yes, there’s sugar and eggs and butter, but I mean, everything in moderation, right?

A word about the bananas: they need to be RIPE. Like mostly black ripe. Trust me, you’ll rob yourself of the full-bodied banana flavor if you try to use them before they’re black.  I bought the bananas that were on sale at the store for like $1 per ton and let them sit an extra two weeks on top of the microwave. That’s what I mean by ripe. Not a moment before, people.

The recipe is for two loaves of bread, each cut into 8 pieces.  Each serving is 241 calories, with 8 grams of fat and 4 grams of protein. It’s a pretty good way to start the day.  If you love nuts, feel free to add 1/2 cup to the recipe with the flour and oats. It will change the nutritional value, but in a good way.

Healthy Banana Bread
adapted from King Arthur Flour

  • 1/2 cup (8 tablespoons) butter
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup brown sugar, light or dark, firmly packed
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon banana flavor, optional
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 6-7 very ripe medium bananas (24 ounces), mashed
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 cups ground oats

Preheat your oven to 350°F. Lightly grease two 8 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ or 9″ x 5″ loaf pans.

In a large bowl, beat together the butter, yogurt and sugar until smooth. Add the vanilla, baking soda, salt, and bananas, beating until well combined. The mixture will be fairly smooth, with some scattered small chunks of banana.

Beat in the honey and eggs.

Add the flour and oats stirring until smooth.

Spoon the batter into the prepared pans, smoothing the top. Let them rest at room temperature for 10 minutes.

Bake the bread for 50 minutes, then gently lay a piece of aluminum foil across the top of each loaf, to prevent over-browning. Bake for an additional 10 to 15 minutes, then remove the bread from the oven; a knife inserted into the center should come out clean.

Allow the loaves to cool for 10 minutes; then remove them from the pan and cool completely on a rack. Store wrapped in foil.

Healthy Banana Bread

29 Comments

  1. I bake banana muffins but I never let the bananas get that ripe. Perhaps, I need to let them sit for as long as you do. They are typically turning a little brown/black when I use them. Next time, I’m sitting them for a long time and let them get really, really ripe.

  2. I love banana bread! However, I recently went gluten free and I have not found a really good gluten free banana bread recipe. I’ve tried a few but they were not ad good.

  3. Looks good! I recently discovered bananas don’t agree with my body and I sure miss them because I love them and I want a slice of this bread like right now!

Leave a Reply

