My Life Book 2014

2014 Life Book

Last year I started making life books. I was inspired to do so because I wanted to actually track how I was changing and have something tangible to look back at the end of the year and see if what I wanted to accomplish at the beginning of the year is what I actually accomplished throughout the year.

This year, my life theme is My Unreasonable Life. Part of this idea came from my work with Akua at Let’s Pursue You. Akua facilitates a marathon session where she empowers and encourages people to take unreasonable actions in what is typically considered an unreasonable amount of time. The point is to get people in action, to get them moving to the things they say they want to do. And it works.

The other reason why I chose this theme is partially ironic. I have a tendency to think the grandest thing and then get bogged down in the minutiae of making it possible. If I’ve learned nothing else this year, it’s how to take smaller steps toward a grander goal. In doing that, I recaptured a lot of my power and peace of mind.

I was inspired by this painting by Mucha Kachidza :

Leap of Faith by Mucha Kachidza

Leap of Faith by Mucha Kachidza

Next year is about taking an unreasonable amount of action in my life. I say I want to travel and instead of a 7-day trip to Seattle, I’m starting with a weekend drive to Indianapolis. Instead of buying a bunch of statement items to make my wardrobe shine, I’m going to buy basics to enhance the statements I’ve already made. See where I’m going? The end result is still the same, but I finally realize how to enjoy the journey.

My binder is divided into these sections:

  • Honesty’s Protégée: the section on the blog. I’m glad for all of you who read and support the blog, but this year, I want to be focused on how I interact. I focused on quantity in 2013, but 2014 is about quality. I’m looking to establish relationships, get to know people and support them on their blogging journey.
  • Unreasonable Change: Each week, I’m going to pick an aspect of life to focus on that will help me move into a new way of thinking and living.
  • Unreasonable Vision: I have A LOT of ideas for businesses, products, processes and a bunch of other things. The problem is I think that these ideas are for me when in reality, they are for other people. I figure what to do after that will come to me, but for now, the goal is to get them all down on paper.
  • Unreasonable Beauty: I’m a visual person. I love looking at things and seeing colors and how they affect me. I get a lot of inspiration from pictures and this section deals with collecting images and simply writing what I find beautiful about them for those times when I need a boost.
  • Unreasonable Pleasure: When that first came to me, I thought it was about things The Hero and I could get into. Of course, it’s much bigger than that. As a matter of fact, my desire to take a belly dancing class falls into it. Anything that makes me feel a certain kinda way.
  • Unreasonably Social: It’s a fancy title for Calendar, but as I type this, I think I’m also going to keep mementos of places or events – The Kid’s graduation for sure – that have an impact on me during the year.
  • Unreasonable Wisdom: There are times when I allow myself to be inspired when I have great writing sessions. Like… life-changing writing sessions. Some deep wisdom about who I am or how I interact with the world come from me in journal form. Those writings are going in this section.
  • Unreasonable Destinations: I have places that are now dreams to me. This section is where I’m going to keep information about my top 5 destinations. The Poconos (don’t judge me) and Seattle get the first two spots.
  • Unreasonably Cool People: A place to collect relevant business cards. I’m going to let go of the notion that everyone who hands me a business card is someone who I will need in my future. When the need arises, the resource will be there.

Life Book 2014

The beginning of the book has an opening letter dated January 3, 2015 (the first Friday of the next year). When 2014 is over, I’ll add a reflection letter on 2015’s stationary to the end of the book. My 2013 book has a letter with my 2014 stationary.

And that’s my life book. Do you do anything to record your year?

Powered by BLM Girls

BLM Girls Badge

16 thoughts on “My Life Book 2014

  1. Pingback: Meandering Mondays #28 | Epic Mommy Adventures

  2. Pingback: Five Things, Seven Days | Honesty’s Protégée

  3. Pingback: Meandering Monday Blog Hop & Linky Party! | Vashti Quiroz-Vega's Blog

  4. I’ve never heard of something writing a book to record a year of their life. It sounds like you would have much to write about and that it could be a wonderful idea. Thanks so much for sharing this with us at Countdown in Style! Don’t forget to stop by to see if you are featured on Friday! xo

  5. Pingback: Meandering Mondays 28 - Chronically Content

  6. Pingback: This Momma's Meandering Mondays 28! » This Momma's Ramblings

  7. Love this idea! I don’t do anything in particular to record my journey. I would like to get back to scrapbooking. I love making unreasonable changes to progress in life. Thanks for sharing and linking up with Countdown in Style! Don’t forget to come back on Friday to see if you were featured!

    ~~April~~
    100lbCountdown.com

  8. Oh I love your Life Book idea – all your goals for the upcoming year ahead. I hope you are successful with ALL of them. I started a new blog for the same reasons mostly – to keep myself on track and make good changes in my life. I wish you well for the New Year!
    Molly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

