Gingerbread Cake

Gingerbread Cake

As a kid, I hated all things ginger. I remembered grabbing a handful of my dad’s ginger snap cookies thinking they would be good and being extremely disappointed by them. It was like eating sweets with a hint of pepper. Who does that to a kid?! It was awful.

As I got older though, I realized that ginger was a spice that I actually liked. It wasn’t until recently that I could even allow myself to foray down the ginger dessert road though after that ginger snap experience. When I saw the recipe for this gingerbread cake, I shrugged off the urge to delete it and decided to make it for our office holiday party today.

Since I’m the new person at the gig, I didn’t want to take anything that would get me the side eye, so I had to bake a test cake first. Oh. My. Stars! I’ve been eating gingerbread cake every time I go into the kitchen. It’s that good. And it really does taste like a ginger snap, except I actually like it. I didn’t get around to making the glaze for the test cakes because they were just that good, but I’m going to add it for the office party.  And thankfully, I have enough cake left to get me through the baking process.

Gingerbread Cake
adapted slightly from The Baker Chick

For the cake:

  • ½ cup white sugar
  • ½ cup plus 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup molasses
  • 2½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1½ teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 3 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground cloves
  • ⅛ teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup hot water

For the glaze:

  • 2 ounces Greek yogurt cream cheese (or half Greek yogurt and half cream cheese)
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • Spiced milk for thinning

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour a 9″ Bundt or square pan or two loaf pans and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the sugar and oil. Add in the egg. Mix in the molasses, whisking until smooth.

Sprinkle the flour over the sugar mixture. Sprinkle the spices, baking soda and salt over the flour.

Gently stir to combine the dry ingredients. Increase the intensity working the wet into the dry until almost incorporated.

Add the hot water and gently whisk until mixture is smooth and well combined (a few lumps are fine).

Bake the Bundt cake for 40-50 minutes or the loaves for 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Remove and cool completely in the pan on a wire rack.

For glaze:
Soften the cream cheese and whisk in the powdered sugar. Add the spiced milk, one tablespoon at a time, until you reach the desired consistency. If you thin it out too much you can add more powdered sugar.
Drizzle over the cooled cake.
Gingerbread Cake
24 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cake

  1. Pingback: Krafty Inspiration Thursday Link Party {#23} - Krafty Cards etc

  2. Pingback: Friday Flash Blog No. 49 {Plus Features} | The Jenny Evolution

  3. Pingback: 10 Last Minute Holiday Dessert Ideas | The Best Blog Recipes Gallery

  4. Ginger cake sounds yummy, I like ginger a lot. This would probably be great for breakfast, with only 1/2 cup of sugar it should have just the right amount of sweetness.

  5. You are right,as i grow older, I started to appreciate ginger. Now I love the flavour and beside a spice, in traditional Chinese Medicine, ginger plays a very important role in our cuisines. It had the property of prevent dizziness,nausea and etc.. A ginger sweet will be good for those who are air sick or sea sick..Thanks for sharing and making me thinking of making this cake. Pin.

Leave a Reply

