Wood Earrings

Wood Earrings

I was at the store shopping, wearing one of my favorite wood necklaces, just minding my own business when I felt things falling in my jacket.

My favorite necklace, one of the first ones I made, broke inside my jacket. Wood beads scattered all over the ground while I’m juggling bags. People stared as I yelled ‘NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO….’

I managed to save only the beads in the picture. Being a big dramatic, I almost threw  them into the parking lot gutter, but something stopped me, so I just put them in my pocket and silently mourned.

A few days later, it hit me: I need a pair of wood earrings! I found the forgotten beads and set about making them. It only too a few minutes and my destroyed necklace turned into a new snazzy pair of earrings.

Wood Earrings

Supplies:

  • Jewelry wire
  • Earring wires
  • Seed beads*
  • Crimp beads*
  • Beads
  • Crimp pliers*
  • Pliers
  • Super glue
    *not pictured

Wood Earrings

String a crimp bead onto one piece of jewelry wire followed by a seed bead. Thread the wire back through the crimp bead and press closed with the pliers. String the wire through the first wood bead. Apply a dab of super glue and pull the seed bead and crimp bead through to secure inside the first wood bead. Allow to dry. Once dry, thread the remaining beads onto the wire. Add another crimp bead and the bar clasp, pulling the wire to tighten. Press the wire closed with the crimp pliers. Open the earring wire and attach the beaded piece. Close the wire. Repeat with the second earring.

12 Comments

  1. I HATE it when that happens! But I’m so glad you saved some beads and made some new jewelry! The earrings are fabulous! Thank you for sharing them on today’s Daily Blog Boost! 🙂
    ~ Brooke ~

Leave a Reply

