Personalized Ashtray

Personalized Ashtray

I don’t know why I didn’t make this sooner. The Hero has used everything in the house as an ashtray for him and his friends: Altoid tins, ramekins, beer bottles, old Wendy’s cups, wine glasses, drinking glasses, plates… you get the point. It doesn’t make me a happy camper, especially when I’m looking for some of these items.

I was at the local dollar store and saw this ashtray for $1.25. At that price, even if whatever I did to it sucked, it wouldn’t make or break me. So, on an impulse, I bought it. I figured, if nothing else, it would save me from having a small melt down when I see ashes in my cute white sauce cup.

I initially used my silver Sharpie to make the R, but it went awry. I went over it again with silver acrylic paint and it came out just right. The fabric is a piece of scrap that I had lying around the house from getting samples from when I was super ambitious and going to make an ottoman (ha!).

Personalized Ashtray

  • Ashtray
  • Fabric
  • Super glue
  • Acrylic paint
  • Stencil, optional

Draw the recipient’s initial(s) in reverse on the bottom of the ashtray. Fill in with acrylic paint and let dry completely.

Once dry, line the edges of the bottom of the ashtray with the super glue. Lay on the fabric and allow to dry. Trim the fabric and seal the edges with super glue or Mod Podge. Turn upside down and allow to dry.

Ashtray

 

 

2 thoughts on “Personalized Ashtray

Leave a Reply

