Fall Pound Cake Cupcakes

Fall Pound Cake Cupcakes

If I told you what I was trying to make when I made these cupcakes, you’d think this recipe was a failure. So I’m not going to tell you. I’ll tell you everything else though.

I wanted to try a new cupcake recipe. I wasn’t really looking for any particular result other than the result that I didn’t get. I was tempted to throw everything away, but the bright orange color cried out to be loved. So I embraced the results.

Then it hit me: these could be Browns cupcakes. I mean, I love the Browns. I start each year with the hope that this will be the year that we at least make Sports Center highlights regularly. I was going to name these Browns cupcakes.

Then they lost. Again. In true Browns fashion. No cupcake dedicated to the home team.

So I ate another cupcake. To be inspired for what to call them and because, you know, the Browns lost again.

And that’s when it hit me: these are fall colors, girl! Just call ’em fall cupcakes. And that’s how the recipe was born. And if you add black food coloring, you can serve them at your Halloween party. Assuming you’re hosting one of course.

You’re probably wondering why there’s no icing. These cakes are just that good. Adding icing – which I did to about one or two that didn’t make it to the photo shoot – was overkill. Too much dessert even for the sweetest of teeth. However, if you are that person who just can’t have a cupcake without icing, go ahead and indulge.

Fall Pound Cake Cupcakes
slightly modified from America’s Test Kitchen

  • 1½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp vanilla salt
  • 8 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened
  • ½ cup vanilla yogurt
  • 1 large egg, plus 2 large egg yolks, room temperature
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • orange and brown food coloring

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Adjust rack to the middle position. Line a muffin pan with cupcake liners.

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and vanilla salt in a large bowl. Add the butter, yogurt, egg, yolks and vanilla and beat at medium speed just until combined, about 30 seconds. Divide the batter in half, add one color to each bowl and mix until color is completely combined and no dry-ingredient pockets remain.

Using two tablespoons, alternate the batter in each liner (brown, orange, brown or orange, brown, orange). Bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cupcake comes out clean. Cool in the pan for about 10 minutes and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely, about 45 minutes.

Fall Pound Cake Cupcake

21 thoughts on “Fall Pound Cake Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Fall Bloggers Showcase ~ Thanksgiving Recipes RoundUp PLUS Blog Hop! - Janine's Confessions of a Mommyaholic

  2. Pingback: best fall thanksgiving recipes and DIY projects and crafts

  3. Pingback: Saturday Bloggers Showcase: Thanksgiving (Fall) Recipe RoundUp PLUS Show Us Yours Link Party!

  4. I was just thinking about making cake, but I have a new Bundt pan I’m wanting to try out. I might have to drag the tins out instead and make cup cakes. These are really pretty and we love pound cake.

Leave a Reply

