Blackened Salmon and Rainbow Rice

Blackened Salmon   Until yesterday, I had no idea that the three smoke alarms in the house had distinct ear-piercing rings. No. Clue.

The recipe for this salmon clearly said ‘this will create a lot of smoke’. In anticipation of said smoking, I opened the kitchen windows and turned on the blower and ceiling fan. I would have opened the patio door, but it was something ridiculous like 40 degrees and I can only stand so much cold. Anyway, proceeded with the recipe and….

SCREECH, SCREECH, SCREECH, SCREECH, SCREECH….

Loud noises almost paralyzes The Hero, but if I stop to get the smoke detector my blackened salmon will be burnt salmon. I move the pan to another eye, run to disable the smoke alarm and go back to the kitchen of billowing smoke. Salmon saved, Hero not paralyzed, all is well. So I start the second batch.

WEWOO, WEWOO, WEWOO, WEWOO, WEWOO….

What the…? Run to the living room to unhook that alarm only to have the second floor alarm…

SCREAM, SCREAM, SCREAM, SCREAM, SCREAM….

Within two minutes – the time to smoke each side of the salmon – I managed to make a mad dash upstairs to beat the smoke alarm into submission and then sprint back down the stairs to the kitchen in time to turn the salmon. Perfectly blackened, although I didn’t know that until the house cleared.

This will create a lot of smoke. Save yourself temporary deafness and disable the smoke alarms.

After all that, the rainbow rice was a piece of cake. Saute a few veggies, mix in the rice, add a little salt, pepper and garlic powder and serve. Really just that easy. And no smoke involved.

Blackened Salmon
adapted slightly from Paula Deen

  • 4 thin salmon fillets, about 4 ounces each
  • ¼ cup smoked paprika
  • 2 tablespoons dried thyme
  • 2 teaspoons onion flakes
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon ground chili pepper
  • olive oil

In a spice grinder or food processor. Pour into a shallow bowl or dish.

Rinse the salmon and pat dry. Brush on a little olive oil.

Preheat a cast-iron or high-heat pan over high heat until smoking.

Coat the salmon with the seasoning mix. Sear in the smoking pan for two minutes and turn. Cook another two minutes on the other side. Immediately remove from the pan, place on a baking sheet and keep warm in the oven on the lowest temperature. Repeat with remaining fish fillets.

Serve warm with the rainbow rice.

CAM01221

15 Comments

  1. Haha I’ve definitely been there with the smoke alarms and of course I’m too short to be able to get them to stop screaming. And it’s always during nap time. Thanks for linking up your recipe to the weekend re-Treat link party.

  2. This recipe looks wonderful but truthfully, I think the salmon part scares me more than the smoke alarms! Ha! I’m always afraid of getting bad fish or messing up the preparation so I’m not big on cooking it. I guess it’s being land locked here in West Texas. LOL. I ❤ salmon but usually leave the preparation to someone else or just make it out of the can into patties. Maybe, I'll give this one a try. Thanks for sharing Deauna! pinning and posting. ❤ Kim

Leave a Reply

