Nail Polish Necklace

Nail Polish Necklace

I don’t polish my nails often, but I have bottles and bottles of nail polish. A problem you say? Possibly, but I’ve found a way to make use of the 15 bottles I have on hand.

I found a cute project on Crème de la Craft for a painted chain necklace. Five minutes was all the time I would have to invest to last bit of small silver chain in my box into something cute and snazzy. So I tried it and it worked in that special Dee way that these projects typically do.

What does that mean you ask? Well, for starters, mine wasn’t as solidly painted as her’s. Could be that I wasn’t using all high-quality nail polish. (CVS got me with the big barrel of polish for $2/bottle). And I did it from memory so I painted the whole chain instead of doing some highlights. Nevertheless, when it dried and looked slightly imperfect, I loved it and rocked it with a yellow tee.

If you want a shorter necklace, feel free to adjust the chain length to your preference.

Nail Polish Necklace

Supplies

  • Chain
  • Nail polish
  • Toothpick or pin
  • Jump rings
  • Pliers
  • Clasp

Cut the chain into three pieces: 12″, 14″ and 16″. Cut two more pieces into 5″ segments. This will be the part that goes around your neck.

Secure the chain in the middle of a piece of a paper in size order. Leave enough space for polishing the chain, about 2″ to 3″ between each length of chain.

Begin painting in either a pattern or random color order. If the nail polish pools in the holes, use the toothpick or pin to clean it out. Let the nail polish dry. If you want to paint the back, turn the chain over and repeat the process.

Open the jump ring and place the three painted pieces on and add one 5″ segment. Close the jump ring. Open another jump ring and add the chain segments in the same order. Close the jump ring. At the other end of the 5″ segments, open a jump ring and add the 5″ section. On the other side, open a jump ring and add the 5″ section and a clasp.

Nail Polish Necklace

11 thoughts on “Nail Polish Necklace

Leave a Reply

