Lime Sweet Tea

LIme Sweet Tea

I know, I know. It’s fall.  And, yes, I know you’re probably just tickled orange with the changing colors, pumpkin and apple recipes and the thought of hibernating for the next few months. Not me. I feel like I was cheated out of summer, so I’m holding on to it hence this nice lime sweet tea recipe. This was the result of lime sugar gone very wrong. I had the great idea to make lime sugar, but instead of using zest, I was going to make lime/sugar lasagna and let the sugar dry out. When it was still juicy and sticky hours later, I thought ‘I’ll put it in the oven with the peppers to dry out.’ Great idea, genius.

Epic. Fail.

There was lime syrup all over the baking sheet. Seeing as we were running low on sugar, I didn’t feel right throwing it away (although I was so livid with myself I almost did). Instead, I decided to turn it into an Arnold Palmer. Kinda.

See, I love Arnold Palmers, but I rarely have lemons on hand to make them. And it just so happened when lime sugar epic fail happened, I was steeping my jasmine green tea with lime slices. To be honest, this is more of a lime-flavored sweet tea than an Arnold Palmer, but I like to think I just remixed an Arnold Palmer. And if I’d had some bourbon or vodka on hand, I would have added a shot to make it a grown-up tea and help me power down the lasers a lot faster because everything is better with a shot or two of bourbon.

Lime Sweet Tea

  • 3 bags of tea
  • 16 ounces of hot water
  • Lime syrup, to taste

Lime syrup

  • 1 lime, sliced
  • 1 cup sugar

To make the syrup, heat the sugar and lime slices in a small sauce pan until the sugar dissolves. Remove from the heat and let stand.

Boil the water for tea. Place the tea bags in a large glass or small pitcher. Steep the tea according to the directions. Once steeped, add lime syrup to taste. For iced tea, add more lime syrup, let the tea reach room temperature and add ice cubes. Or, make the lime syrup ahead, freeze in ice-cube trays and add to cooled tea.

LIme Sweet Tea

11 Comments

  1. Love it when something good comes out of a failed project. Thanks for sharing I’ll be sure to pin it. Come link up with me if you’d like at cass-eats.blogspot.com

  2. Ohh that looks nice, do you think it would work with lemon? I have a massive lemon tree which fruits most of the year and I’m always looking for ways to use them

Leave a Reply

