Biscuit Lasagna

Biscuit Lasagna

I get a lot of my food inspiration from other bloggers. At one time, I subscribed to 20+ blogs, most of which posted daily. Talk about email overload. After a much-needed weeding out, I’m now down to about 10 which is a manageable amount.

This recipe came from Plain Chicken. The recipes on Plain Chicken are rich, like if you’re on a diet, these would be splurge recipes. So while I would try just about all of them, with only two of us in the house and us not loving to share our food, I’d really be… uh… portly.

But, I couldn’t pass up the cheesy biscuit recipe. The Hero complains about my sheer love of cheese and teases me about it relentlessly, so much so that I’ve practically stopped buying and eating it. That just makes me sad, but this recipe didn’t. I used my trusty biscuit recipe with a few tweaks (one of which was my flavored butter).

The night I made these, The Hero came home starving. It was a scary night for me as he was getting on my nerves so badly that I had to put the knife down. Yeah… it got real. Thankfully, no one got shanked and dinner was good.

The biscuit dough makes more than you’ll need. I simply re-rolled it and made garlic biscuits for another day. Place the biscuits between waxed paper and into a freezer bag and freeze them. You could also just make more cheesy biscuits for another day. To save time you can use refrigerated biscuit dough. And I won’t even give you the cyber side-eye.

Cheesy Biscuit Lasagna
adapted slightly from Plain Chicken

  • Fresh mozzarella, sliced thin

For the Filling

  • ½ cup low-fat ricotta
  • 5 fresh basil leaves (about 3 tablespoons), minced
  • 3 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese

For the Sauce

  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • ½ onion, diced
  • ½ cup mushrooms, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 1 jar (28 ounces) spaghetti sauce
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

For the Biscuits

Preheat oven to 400. In a small bowl, mix the ricotta, basil and Parmesan cheese together. Set aside.

In 10-inch skillet, cook the green pepper, onion, mushrooms and garlic over medium high heat until onions are translucent, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and place vegetables in a bowl. Cook the ground turkey in the same skillet. Once done, stir in spaghetti sauce, garlic powder and Italian seasoning. Reduce heat and add vegetables to the sauce. Pour into a 13 x 9 baking dish. Layer sliced mozzarella over the sauce.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Gradually stir in the milk and yogurt until dough pulls away from the side of the bowl.

Turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead 15 to 20 times. Pat or roll out to about ¼-inch thickness. Cut out 8 biscuits with a cookie cutter or floured drinking glass. Place about 2 tablespoons cheese filling on each biscuit. Fold dough in half over filling and press edges with a fork to seal. Arrange the biscuits on top of the mozzarella.

Bake 15 to 18 minutes or until the biscuits are golden brown. Let cool for 10 minutes before serving.

Biscuit Lasagna

34 Comments

  1. You are never going to believe this but I think I will make this for dinner tonight. I’ll let you know how it goes. Recipes are just rough guidelines right?

  2. This looks so good! And rich is right! I’m excited to check out all of your other recipes. Thanks for linking up on WDW!

  3. What a clever idea using biscuits, I bet it’s amazing! Thank you for sharing at this weeks Creative Muster. Now that you found our party I hope that you’ll continue to join us every Tuesday evening.

  4. Yum!!!! I am right there with ya, when it comes to cheese! I’m happy that I stopped by through Artsy Corner Link Party! I like your sense of humor (I’m heading next to check out your biscuit recipe, even though you did say you would not give anyone the cyper side eye for using the store biscuits :o)

    Blessings & Aloha!
    So nice to meet you!

    1. Thanks for dropping by, Maria! I promise not to give the cyber eye. 😀 I make more things from scratch becuase it distracts me from all the other things outside of the kitchen and craft room that I need to take care of.

  5. Dang this looks good! Anything to avoid pre-cooking pasta sheets! And I totally get you on the email overload thing! I don’t know how they do it! It’s awesome, but I can’t keep up!!

    1. Nat, it’s totally easy, especially if you use pre-made biscuits.

      OMG… I recently signed up for a few more and I swear I don’t know which way is up! The problem is I really like the blogs I subscribe to now so I’m going to have to figure out a system over the next week or so.

Leave a Reply

