Spiced Chickpeas

Spiced Chickpeas

About a month or so ago, The Hero and I had a family pow wow. We realized that we needed to make some changes individually and as a couple so we could move to the next level of our togetherness. He decided in order to fulfill that promise, he needed to complete an accelerated graduate program, which translated to us living off one salary for a year. No problem. But change is a coming.

One change is what we eat. Despite me never having all the ingredients I need for a recipe, our food purchasing habits needed to be revamped. One change was instead of cans and cans of beans at about $1/can (as much as $6 if I’m making chili) I’d learn how to cook dried beans and save about $4/batch of chili. Considering how often we eat chili, that’s a considerable savings over a year, people.

I bought four bags of beans and to be honest, I have NO idea why I bought a whole bag of chickpeas. Like, I really don’t even know what people do with chickpeas besides put them on salads and make hummus. But, then I saw this recipe on Fat Girl Trapped In A Skinny Body and had to try it, with a few modifications because I had to make substitutions.

A few notes. The original recipe calls for baking the chickpeas for 40 to 60 minutes to get the crunch of a corn nut. Well… I hate corn nuts, so I adjusted the baking time to 20 minutes, turned the oven off and let the chickpeas stay in the oven about 10 extra minutes. They turned out perfectly crispy without chipping my teeth.

Also, the original recipe calls for 2 cans of chickpeas. I will say I used about a cup of chickpeas and most of the seasoning mix, but that’s because I liked the seasoning mix. I would suggest doubling or tripling the seasoning mix recipe. If you don’t use it all, store it and use it when you’re cooking. I’m going to try it on smashed potatoes some time this week.

Spiced Chickpeas
adapted slightly from Fat Girl Trapped In A Skinny Body

Ingredients

  • 1 cup chickpeas
  • 1 tbsp canola oil
  • Spice mix (recipe below)

Spice Mix

  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1½ tsp ground cumin
  • 1½ tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • ½ tsp garlic powder
  • ½ tsp ground allspice
  • ½ tsp salt (I used lemon salt)

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with foil.

Drain and wash the chickpeas.  Place the clean chickpeas on a layer of paper towels and gently rub the tops with another paper towel. The goal is to get the chickpeas as dry as possible.

Make the spice mix.  Pour all of the spices into a bowl and mix well or add to a food processor and pulse for 5 seconds.

Place the dried chickpeas in a bowl and toss them with the canola oil.  Once coated add the spice mix and shake to cover the chickpeas. (I used most of the spice recipe for about 1 cup of chickpeas.)

Place the seasoned chickpeas on the prepared baking sheet and put the sheet in the oven for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes, give them a shake, turn the oven off, place the chickpeas back in the oven and continue to let them bake for an additional 10 minutes or so. As the chickpeas cool they will become crunchier. When cooled to room temperature, store in a sealed container.

Spiced Chickpeas

7 Comments

Leave a Reply

