Hummus

Hummus

I don’t know when I became an adventurous eater. As a matter of fact, I don’t even remember when I started branching out from my normal rotation of spaghetti, chili, meatloaf and pancakes. I want to say it was when The Hero moved in because when I’m in a relationship, I go all super domestic. Yeah, we’ll just go with that.

Hummus would fall into the adventurous eating category. I’m really weird about foods, particularly foods I categorize as condiments. See, I really am not a fan of mystery sauces (which is why I’ve NEVER had a Big Mac), creamy/cheesy/white sauces, colored sauces or anything other than barbecue sauce and salsa. And salsa only gets a pass if it’s homemade or pico de gallo style.

I remember trying hummus at the urging of coworkers at a group lunch (another weird experience since I am not a fan of double dipping or other people touching my food). It was thick and made with chickpeas and… orangeish/brown. Um… no.

But then they kept on ranting and raving about how good it was (and no one had double-dipped), so I decided to give it a try.

OH. MY. DEPRAVED. TASTE. BUDS. All these years of condiment snubbing and I’ve missed out on THIS?! WTF? I was so disgusted with myself. What followed however was a two-week disappointment as I tried to find that exact hummus in stores and other restaurants. Sigh.

What I didn’t know is I could make it at home. In comes this recipe. I had all of the ingredients, except tahini, but I found a recipe to make my own. I highly suggest making your own. It’s only sesame seeds and oil. I also cooked dry beans to make the hummus because, well, I don’t like the slimy canned ones. Oh… I didn’t have lemons, but I had limes and, hey, I like limes better anyway.

Hummus
slightly adapted from Cook’s Illustrated

  • 15 ounces of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 medium clove of garlic, diced
  • 3 tablespoons of freshly squeezed lime juice
  • ½ teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 1 jalapeno (or other hot pepper), chopped (remove ribs and seeds to reduce heat)
  • ¼ cup tahini
  • ¼ cup extra virgin olive oil
  • ¼ cup water
  • Salt to taste

Process all of the ingredients in a food processor until smooth, about 40 seconds. Add salt to taste and blend another 10 seconds. Transfer to a resealable container and chill for 30 minutes to allow the flavors to blend together. Serve cold. The hummus will keep in the refrigerator for two days.

Hummus

2 thoughts on “Hummus

  1. Deauna,
    I like to make my own hummus, too! It’s fun to experiment with different veggies from the farm share to change things up (garlic scape pesto is a favorite). My favorite Lebanese butcher serves hummus with a real healthy drizzle of olive oil, at room temp, and that’s now how I roll.

    I’m glad to find you from Tasty Tuesdays!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I’m going to try other varieties at some point. I’d really love to try to copy cat the one I had years ago. I don’t love that particular restaurant enough to go back, but there’s an ingredient that I’m missing. I think it’s smoked paprika.

Leave a Reply

