Cinnamon Swirl Biscuit Loaf

Biscuit Loaf
This is the week of anniversary posts. This recipe was from breakfast. I asked The Hero what he wanted to eat and he suggested we pick breakfast together. Each of us would choose a food and then we(I)’d go cook. I told him that I wanted cinnamon swirl biscuits, hands down. No pancakes. No French toast. No regular biscuits. No toast. He agreed and we proceeded to put the rest of our breakfast together.

I started out with the simple biscuit recipe and the basic cinnamon roll technique in my head. After a little modification, it tastes exactly the way I love: dense yet light with a hint of sweetness. I love my go-to biscuit recipe and couldn’t imagine trying another one at this point.

I’ll warn you ahead of time, the rolling was… challenging. You could flour the wax paper even more or try refrigerating the dough, but I can’t guarantee how it will turn out. I used my dough scraper to move the process along. I’m sure there’s an easier way to do it, but, you know, I like doing it the hard way.

Everything, but…. nothing! Ha! I tricked you! I had everything on hand. If you don’t have sweetened almond milk, you can use regular milk with about a teaspoon of sugar and ¼ teaspoon of vanilla extract.

Cinnamon Swirl Biscuit Loaf
adapted slightly from Allrecipes

For biscuit dough:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • ⅓ cup butter
  • ½ cup sweetened vanilla almond milk
  • ¼ cup vanilla yogurt
  • Melted butter

For cinnamon sugar:

  • ¼ cup sugar
  • 1½ teaspoons cinnamon

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C). Line a baking sheet with foil. Tear off a long sheet of waxed paper and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Gradually stir in the milk and yogurt until dough pulls away from the side of the bowl.

Turn out onto a floured surface, and knead 15 to 20 times. Adding flour to the waxed paper, pat or roll dough out to 1″ thick. Brush the dough with the melted butter and generously, but evenly apply the cinnamon sugar to the loaf. Begin rolling each end toward the middle, scraping any dough down with the dough scraper as you roll. When you get close to the middle, pull the wax paper away from one side, lay it on the prepared sheet, continuing to pull the wax paper off the loaf until it’s resting on the baking sheet.

Bake for 15 to 20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges begin to brown and the center is set. Cool on a wire rack for about 10 minutes. Serve warm.

Biscuit Loaf

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Swirl Biscuit Loaf

Leave a Reply

