Chickpea Patties Semi-Fail

Chickpea Patties

Just about everything in this post is a fail. The picture was an afterthought and I took it late at night with no staging and bad lighting. How I executed was also a major fail since I felt The Ick coming and rushed through an important step.

The jury is out on the taste. The Hero says I should have diced the ingredients because ‘people want to taste the crunch’. He also tried to convince me that they didn’t have enough flavor, but I wasn’t buying that. However, you be the judge when you make this recipe.

Using a food processor will make this short work. The most time-consuming aspect was cooking the dry beans. You can even avoid that by using canned beans. I won’t be upset. If I’d had them, I probably would have used them too. And if you don’t have a food processor, mash the beans, dice all of the veggies and slightly beat the egg.

I tried baking and frying the patties. The baked patties (on the right) kept their shape, but it was dry. The fried patty (on the right) fell apart, but tasted like golden fried goodness. In classic everything, but fashion, I didn’t have enough peanut oil so I added coconut oil for frying. OMG, delicious. I loved it.

When handling the hot peppers, wear gloves. Seriously. I call myself being tough and didn’t use gloves and let’s just say even after several handwashings, when I went to rub my nose…. hot FIYAH!

Chickpea Patties

  • 2⅓ cups of chickpeas (garbanzo beans)
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 hot pepper (jalapeno, cherry or Habanero)
  • ½ sweet onion, cut in half
  • 1 sweet bell pepper, quartered
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 2 tsp house seasoning
  • 1 egg

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or foil. Set aside.

Add half of the chickpeas to the food processor. Pulse into paste. Add the remaining chickpeas and ingredients. Pulse until the veggies are diced/minced. Form into patties and place on the prepared baking sheet. Freeze or refrigerate until firm.

Heat oil in a large frying pan on high or medium-high heat (my stove needed to stay on high). Fry the patties until golden brown, about five minutes, gently flip and fry on the other side. Dry on paper towels. Season with more salt and pepper to taste. Serve hot.

Chickpea Patties

2 Comments

  1. Sounds good!! I am trying to find some Chickpea Flour which is recommended for making Falafel and other chickpea recipes you can fry or bake. May have to order online, there is none in my area.

Leave a Reply

