Energy Bites

Energy Bites

My Facebook friends love food. There are more pictures of food than anything else on my timeline at any given time of the day. They are people after my own heart. Sometimes the recipes posted are too rich or sound a little more strange for my tastes, but to each his or her own.

I couldn’t pass this one up though. It hit my timeline at the right moment a couple of nights ago. I was trying to think of what I could pull together with the stuff in my cabinet (a hodge-podge of things no one wants to eat alone). Surprisingly I had almost everything on hand. Who has maple, but no vanilla extract? Me.

I’ll warn you now: these are sticky so your hands will be gooey. Just lick your fingers. Really…. they’re good for you so it’s totally okay.

Energy Bites
adapted slightly from Facebook

  • 1 cup dry oats
  • ½ cup chocolate chips
  • ½ cup crunchy peanut butter
  • ½ cup ground flaxseed
  • ⅓ cup honey
  • 1 tsp. maple extract

Mix ingredients together in a large bowl. Roll into one-ounce balls and place on waxed-paper lined cookie sheet. Refrigerate overnight to set.

Energy Bites

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

