Southwest Quinoa Tacos

Southwest Quinoa Tacos

Soo… well… yeah. I didn’t think about taking a picture of this until after all the salsa was gone. Sorry. The IG picture will have to suffice this time.

Anyway, I was inspired by The Domestic Superhero’s Mexican Quinoa Bowl recipe. When I read the recipe I knew it was one that I had to try.

Sidebar: I’m considering renaming the blog “Everything But…” because I typically have all the ingredients for a recipe except one or two crucial ones. And it’s always something simple like sugar, but I’ll have a complex ingredient like smoked paprika. Go figure. Anyway, for the Mexican Quinoa Bowls, I didn’t have black beans or cheese, so I had to improvise. I made them taco-like.

I made everything from scratch – again, everything but – because I didn’t have taco seasoning, but I had all the ingredients to make my own. Same for salsa. But in the interest of time, you can buy a taco dinner kit and knock this out in no time flat.

Southwest Quinoa Tacos
adapted from The Domestic Superhero

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • ¾ cup water
  • 1  tbsp taco seasoning
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 6 corn tortillas
  • 2-3 tbsp cilantro
  • Toppings (lettuce, cheese, salsa)

Combine quinoa, chicken broth, water, taco seasoning and corn in a medium pot. Bring to a boil and reduce to simmer, cooking about 15 minutes or until all liquid is absorbed.

While the quinoa cooks, prepare the toppings. I like my tortillas crispy so I heated them in the oven like this:

Heat tortillas in the oven

Fill the shell with quinoa the same way you’d use meat. Add the toppings and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

