French Toast Puffs

French Toast Puffs

I’m on a handheld breakfast kick and I’m not sure when it’s going to stop. This weekend, I made French toast puffs.

Why convert French toast to a handheld delight? Mostly because we run out of forks a lot. Like… A. LOT. And I really love French toast, but I can never get the middle of the French toast to not be soggy when I use regular bread. I needed an alternative.

What makes this works is toasting the bread first. I can’t believe I didn’t think of this for full-sized French toast, but, alas, I didn’t. It makes it so much easier to work with than untoasted bread. If you have a four-slice toaster, it’s even easier because you only have two batches of toast to make versus four in the two-slicer.

The rest is simple French toast dip. If you have an FT dip you love, use it. This is the one I know and love. And it’s simply awesome with bacon, but what isn’t great with bacon?

French Toast Puffs

  • 8 slices of bread, toasted and cut in cubes
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup sweetened vanilla almond milk
  • ¼ tsp vanilla salt
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • Melted butter for greasing
  • Cinnamon sugar

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Brush melted butter in tins of a muffin pan. Set aside.

Whisk together the eggs, milk, vanilla salt and cinnamon together in a large bowl. Add the bread cubes. Coat the cubes with the egg mixture. Spoon into the prepared muffin tins. Top with cinnamon sugar.

Bake for 10 minutes or until the tops are set and golden brown. Cool on a wire rack. Serve warm.

French Toast Puffs

2 thoughts on “French Toast Puffs

Leave a Reply

