DIY Nail Art

DIY Nail Art

I’ve probably had my nails done professionally 10 time in my entire life. Every time I get them done, I always end up with hang nails. I figure if it’s going to happen anyway, I’d rather do them myself.

Lately I’ve been interested in different types of nail art. I’m not sure where I originally saw this DIY tut, but ever since, it’s been my go to process when I want to take my nails up a level.

For the designs, you need a color laser printer. Laser. Not ink jet. I have access to one at work and decided to print a full sheet of designs that would last me for a while. Finding images was a piece of cake on Google. I think I searched for ‘retro desktop wallpapers’ and ‘fabric design patterns’. I also checked out a couple of fabric design websites. Calico Corners is pretty awesome and where I found a lot of the designs I printed.

DIY Nail Art

Supplies:

  • Nail polish (neutral color or white)
  • Alcohol
  • Cotton balls/pads
  • Color laser printed designs
  • Top coat
  • Water
  1. For the best results, measure your nails and cut out the designs. Set them aside.
  2. Pour a little alcohol in a small container.
  3. Polish nails and allow them to dry completely.
  4. Coat your dry nails with alcohol. You want them wet so the design sticks.
  5. Lay the design, printed side down, on your nail. Saturate with the alcohol cotton ball/pad.
  6. Allow the paper to dry. Peel it off carefully. Add a little water to your nail and rub off any remaining bits of paper.
  7. Apply a top coat to protect the design.

DIY Nail Art

Leave a Reply

