Onion Straws

Onion Straws

I apologize in advance for these pictures. It was night time and, well, I was SO ready to eat these that I rushed. This is greasy week. My last recipe used bacon grease. Today… onion rings. I had a hankering for them Tuesday night. Not the ones from Burger King with all breading, no onion. I wanted something akin to a Bloomin’ Onion, without all the bloomin’.

I figured the batter involved flour and some sort of liquid. After checking my trusty cookbooks (Betty Crocker, Paula Deen, Patti LaBelle and America’s Test Kitchen), I came up with nothing. Nada. Zilch. Then I saw the food truck recipes book and figured if a food truck cookbook doesn’t have a recipe, then it’s a sign I need to let the onion ring phase pass me by.

And there it was… onion straws. With… two… ingredients…? Um… what? I did all that searching for a recipe that tells me I only need onions and cornmeal? Yeah… not gonna work.

So I winged it. No batter is truly complete without flour. I mean… it’s flour! Mothers have been frying excellent chicken in flour for generations. Flour is in. Since I used all the eggs and didn’t feel like going to the store at 9 p.m. to get more just for onion rings, I used milk. It’s wet and it has potential to be sticky. It’ll do for what I needed. Ha, food truck book! I just doubled the ingredients!

Now I know that I said use what you have before, but I have to warn you that these are probably going to only be okay with any onion other than sweet onions. The sweetness adds that missing taste flavor that all other onion varieties don’t have. You CAN use other onions, but I’m going to highly suggest sweet onions. Highly suggest.

Onion Straws

  • 1 medium sweet onion
  • 1 cup flour
  • ½ cup cornmeal
  • milk for dipping
  • oil for frying
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oil in a large skillet on medium-high heat.

Peel and slice the onion into thin rings. Set aside. In a bag or sealable container, mix the flour and cornmeal together. Add milk to a shallow bowl.

Shake the onion rings in the flour mixture. Dip the flour-covered rings into the milk. Shake in the flour mixture again. Add to the preheated oil and fry for about 2 minutes or until golden brown. Drain on paper towels and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Onion Straws

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

