Bacon Pancake Puffs

Bacon Pancake Puffs

I like bacon. I love bacon actually. The salty, greasiness takes me back to Sunday mornings growing up in Cleveland. After we would help my brother deliver papers, my mom would make the best Sunday breakfasts: pancakes, french toast, biscuits or waffles, eggs (with or without cheese), bacon, smoked sausage and home fries. It was glorious for a little girl who LOVES to eat.

Fast forward 25+ years and I still think of Sunday mornings as big breakfast day. Unfortunately, by the time everything is done, it’s at least an hour later and I’m too tired to really enjoy everything I cooked. So I had to learn to streamline.

These pancake puffs are a result of that. The Kid bought me the pancake popper pan for Christmas two years ago. It was a sweet gesture. I did however feel bad when he said ‘it’s that pan you said you wanted so bad back in July’. I typically can’t live without something a couple of times a year and clearly forget until I get it as a gift and the guilt kicks in. But… I was determined to use the pan and so I did.

Here is my blanket recipe disclaimer going forward: feel free to substitute ingredients to whatever you have on hand. Got sausage? Use it. No yogurt? Use all milk. It will still be fine. Trust me.

Bacon Pancake Puffs
inspired by Val J and Betty Crocker

  • 4 pieces of cooked bacon, crumbled
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup milk
  • ¼ cup yogurt
  • 2 tbsp bacon grease
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp vanilla salt (or regular salt and a splash of vanilla)
  • Melted butter for greasing pans

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cook the bacon in a skillet. Drain on paper towels and crumble. Reserve bacon grease for recipe. Set aside.

Beat the egg, milk, yogurt and bacon grease together in a medium bowl. Add the flour, brown sugar, baking powder and salt. Stir just until combined. Fold in the crumbled bacon.

Brush butter in the cavities of the puff or muffin pan. Fill with batter almost to the top.  Bake for 10 minutes or until the tops are set. Remove from the oven and immediately transfer to a wire rack. These are best served hot.

Bacon Pancake Puffs

Leave a Reply

