Quinoa Stir Fry

Quinoa Stir Fry

Quinoa. I ask again, how did I only recently find out about this grain? It’s so versatile. From breakfast to dinner, I could eat it all day. Of course I probably won’t because I’d get tired of eating it, but you get the point. It’s just that awesome.

Another reason why I love it is because I can never cook rice to the perfect consistency for stir fry. Sometimes it’s undercooked, but for the most part, I usually make it too gummy. I thought I would solve that problem by buying a rice cooker, but I still manage to not get the consistency I want for stir fry. My soul died a little inside because of that.

In comes quinoa. I figured out how to get the perfect consistency for stir fry every time I make it. I didn’t know it was perfect stir-fry consistency until I was bored at home this weekend and wondering what I would post this week for you. And it just happened naturally. Stir fry love. The day after cilantro salt. It was like a little moment of heaven.

I used what was left in the fridge for this, so feel free to add or swap ingredients if you don’t have something. It will still be awesome.

Quinoa Stir Fry

  • ½ cup quinoa
  • 1 cup water
  • ½ red bell pepper, diced
  • ½ yellow bell pepper, diced
  • ½ green bell pepper, diced
  • ½ sweet onion, diced
  • ¼ Habanero pepper, diced
  • 1 tbsp cilantro
  • cilantro salt, to taste
  • pepper, to taste

Heat quinoa and water to boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 10 minutes or until all liquid is absorbed.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the peppers and onion. Cook for 3 minutes. Add cooked quinoa and Habanero pepper and cook an additional 1 to 2 minutes. Add cilantro and cook an additional minute, just to heat the cilantro and release the flavor. Remove the pan from the heat and season to taste. Serve hot.

Quinoa Stir Fry

Leave a Reply

