Cilantro Salt

Cilantro Salt

I love seasonings. They add such depth to a dish and can make a boring food come alive all over my taste buds.

After buying the nice containers of seasoned salts a few months back, I’ve been experimenting with making my own flavored salts (see vanilla, lemon, and orange salts). I’ve been using the vanilla salt pretty heavily in baking and for dishes like pancakes and biscuits when I use vanilla almond milk.

Since the herbs in the urban garden are now overflowing with leaves, I decided to make savory versions of salts. I love cilantro. Like REALLY love cilantro. It’s one spice that I try to keep on hand because a Latin-inspired dish is always floating around in my head.

There really isn’t a clear recipe for making salts. It will depend heavily on how much of the seasoning you want to shine through in the end. For this one, I wanted salty cilantro instead of salt with a hint of cilantro. The proportions are significantly different from the other flavored salt recipes. Take it as a guideline and make it according to your preference.

Cilantro Salt

  • 1 bunch cilantro
  • 2 tbsp sea salt

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Wash and dry the cilantro. Add the cilantro to the bowl of a food processor and pulse about five seconds to slightly cut the leaves. Add the salt and pulse an additional five seconds. Spread on the prepared cookie and let dry overnight. Store in an airtight container.

Cilantro Salt

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

