Spiced Breakfast Quinoa

image

This week The Hero and I decided to try to cut back on the amount of meat we eat. Since I am the primary grocery shopper I figured I needed to take the lead on it.

Lunch and dinner? No problem. But bacon goes so well with pancakes. Or sausage. Or fried smoked sausage. But I was going to be diligent, get ready for when we’re a one-income household while The Hero goes to grad school. So I had to rethink breakfast. And that’s when the quinoa recipe hit me.

Remember spiced oatmeal? I decided to replace the oatmeal with quinoa. The outcome, pure deliciousness. I can’t believe I didn’t think of it before now.

If you don’t have vanilla almond milk, use whatever you have on hand and add a teaspoon of vanilla to the recipe.

Spiced Breakfast Quinoa

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 4 cloves
  • 4 allspice berries
  • 1-inch piece of ginger
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar

In medium pan, combine all the ingredients and bring to a boil. Reduce to low and cook for 10 minutes or until all the liquid is absorbed and the quinoa is translucent with a white circle on the outer edges. Let stand for 5 minutes, remove the spices and serve.

image

3 thoughts on “Spiced Breakfast Quinoa

  1. Pingback: Quinoa Stir Fry | Honesty's Protégée

Leave a Reply

