Beaded Combs + A Bonus

Beaded Combs

This weekend is The Hero’s 20th class reunion. As a fashion-fickle woman, I looked in my closet and realized I had nothing to wear to tonight’s event. Last weekend I went shopping with my fashion guru friend and found a cute dress I loved.

I needed to think about accessories. Luckily, I had the bulk of what I needed, but I wanted to do something cute with my hair. I bought a pack of hair combs from the beauty supply store back when I took the locs out thinking I’d probably use them. They were very… plain and as with all craft projects, I let them sit.

I remembered I had the combs when I was putting my outfit together and decided to jazz them up with some leftover beads. Start to finish, it took me about 30 minutes (including breaks and clean-up).

For the wire-wrapped comb, you’ll need:

  • 1 hair comb
  • 28 gauge wire
  • small beads
  • wire cutters

Beaded Comb

1. Cut a length of wire about 10 times the length of the comb. Wrap the wire around the end of the comb.

Beaded Comb

2. Add two beads to cover the front of the comb, wrap and repeat. When you reach the end, thread a small piece of wire through the back to secure. Clip any remaining wire.

For the glued beaded comb, you’ll need:

  • 1 hair comb
  • small beads
  • seed beads (optional for filler)
  • super glue

Beaded Comb

1. Apply glue to the front of the comb. For following beads, apply glue to comb and the last bead.

2. Place a bead on the glue, making sure to attach to the previous bead. Hold until set and repeat to the end of the comb.

3. To fill in, apply glue to small sections spaces between the beads.

4. Sprinkle seed beads into the glued sections. Allow to dry completely.

As an added bonus, here’s another hair project: painted bobby pins. This one is super easy. I used nail polish to paint my bobby pins the colors in my new dress. It literally took 30 seconds per pair.

Painted Bobby Pins

Leave a Reply

