Omelet Sausage Sandwiches

Sausage Omelete Sandwiches

I promise I’m not on a breakfast recipe kick. The same day I made the breakfast mac & cheese for The Kid and me, I also made these sausage biscuit sandwiches for The Hero. I was not a very happy cook that day.

Let me explain.

I’ve been in a cooking funk lately. It has nothing to do with The Hero or anything unusually, just the ebb and flow of being me. In my mind I want to cook, then I get home and am totally turned off by cooking. When the mood hits me though, I go for it and start taking requests.

Saturday morning was one of those times. I asked The Kid what he wanted and he said breakfast mac. I KNEW The Hero wouldn’t eat it because ‘macaroni and cheese with all that crap in it is NOT breakfast. You’re both communists.’ So I asked him what he wanted: sausage biscuit sandwiches.

Not to be outdone, he happened to mosey into the kitchen while I was skillfully preparing both sets of breakfasts (which you’ll be glad to know took almost two hours from start to finish) and saw diced red and green peppers on the counter.

The Hero: I want peppers in my eggs.
Me: What? (powering up to Death Con 4)
The Hero: Can you put some peppers in my eggs?
Me: You’re serious?
The Hero: Um….
Me (whispering/mumbling): I’ll see what I can do

After powering down from ‘Annihilate!’, I realized NOT adding the peppers meant more clean up and storing on the back end for me. That’s how sausage biscuit sandwiches became omelet sausage sandwiches.

On a day when I’m at my cooking finest, I would have made the biscuits from scratch and I highly suggest that. However, Grands! are an excellent substitute when you’re short on time or volunteer to be a short order cook. I highly recommend Bob Evans sausage patties that come four to a pack and are about the same diameter as hamburgers. These sausage patties will fit your biscuit (unlike the ones pictured) and save you time.

To make the egg part of the recipe perfectly round, I used a pancake mold. If you wanted, you could just as easily create one large omelet and cut the egg part out with a larger round cookie cutter. Do what works for you. Also, we like our eggs cooked hard (hence the golden brown crust). Adjust the cooking times to your egg preference.

Omelet Sausage Sandwiches

  • 8 sausage patties
  • 8 biscuits
  • 8 eggs
  • 1½ cups diced bell peppers (I mixed red and green)

Cook biscuits according to package. Reduce oven to lowest temperature. Once cooled, wrap biscuits in foil and place in the oven to keep warm.

Cook sausage. Drain and set aside.

Heat about 2 tablespoons of oil in a large skillet or griddle over high heat. Spray the pancake mold with cooking spray. To cook as many mini omelets as possible, place the mold at the edge of the pan. Crack one egg into the mold and scramble carefully for about 1 minute. Add about 1 to 2 tablespoons of peppers and scramble to mix. Let the omelet set, about 2 minutes. Carefully remove the mold and flip the omelet over. Cook another minute or so until set. Repeat with remaining eggs.

Once all the omelets are cooked, assemble the sandwiches. Serve immediately.

Sausage Omelete Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

