Frozen Strawberry Mint Popsicles

Strawberry Mint Pops

In the midst of the longest heat wave this year, I had a genius idea. I was sweating to death and wanted something to take my mind off how everything was melting around me.

The Hero bought two containers of strawberries for us. Now I have to say that I think we both really love strawberries, but as is the case with food in our house, sometimes we forget we have something and then it’s gross and shrunken when we do remember. I decided that the strawberries wouldn’t die that horrible fridge death. I had also just pruned the mint plant in the Urban Garden and needed to do something with the mint. That’s when it hit me: strawberry mint popsicles.

Of course, I was trying to figure out how I wanted to make them. With yogurt? Staw-ber-rita? Pinnacle Tropical Punch vodka? I finally settled on the yogurt version. If you don’t love yogurt, you can use water, but be sure to add a sweetener unless you’re some hardcore, anti-sweetener, only-good-foods type. In that case, you’re a beast. This recipe made nine pops, but the yield may vary depending on what you’re using for the popsicle mold.

Strawberry Mint Popsicles

  • i container of strawberries, halved
  • 3 tbsp mint, diced
  • 1/4 cup vanilla yogurt

Puree all of the ingredients together. Pour into popsicle molds and insert sticks or tops. Freeze until hard, at least four hours.

Tip: To get your popsicles out, run hot water over the mold a about 5 seconds.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

