Carrot Cake Muffins

Carrot Cake Muffins

I don’t know about you, but sometimes, it’s hard being a cooking foodie.

I woke up with waffles on the brain. I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that we would have Belgian waffles. I knew it.

Until The Hero said “Oh. I want a grit bowl.”

And then, we weren’t having waffles. My mind went into overdrive thinking about how I could improve on the grit bowl. Then I thought about how I wanted Belgian waffles, but needed to make something that I knew we would eat for the rest of the week because it just didn’t make any sense to mix waffle batter for one person when I clearly only wanted half of one waffle. There shall be no waste here.

So I got out the muffin cookbook a good friend of mine gave me for my birthday two years ago. I dropped the book and it opened to the carrot cake muffin recipe. It was meant to be.

Carrot Cake Muffins
adapted from 1 Mix, 100 Muffins

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp ground allspice
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup grated carrots
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almonds, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup vanilla yogurt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 6 tbsp unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1/2 cup orange juice

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease a muffin tin with oil or line with liners. Set aside.

Combine the flours, baking powder, salt, and spices in a large bowl. Stir in the sugar, carrots, almonds and raisins.

Lightly beat the eggs in another bowl. Add the milk, butter and orange juice. Make a well in the flour mixture and add the wet ingredients. Stir until just combined. DON’T overmix.

Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin tin. Bake for about 15 minutes or until a knife or toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in the pan for 5 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool completely.

Carrot Cake muffins

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

