Vanilla Almonds

Vanilla Almonds

By now you’ve probably already made the vanilla salt, right? Nice.

So let’s start flavoring stuff with it. Like I wrote in the last post, when I finally got my mind wrapped around the fact that vanilla salt could enhance our food in so many ways, I went through it pretty quickly.

This almond recipe was one of those ideas. One day I was just in the mood for something different. Um… let me be more specific: I was in the mood for something crunchy, but not with the word ‘chips’ in the name. I tried to eat a radish, but, well, that just went awry since I forgot that radishes are kinda peppery. Yeah… imagine how my mouth felt when I started chomping half a radish. Not. Good.

After several glasses of water and a Strawberrita, I decided to heat some almonds in a pan with a little oil. That’s when it hit me to add a little vanilla salt. Talk about mouth joy. The almonds were crunchy and the combination of vanilla salt with the almonds was a nice surprise. I don’t know what I expected, but whatever it was, I ate all of the almonds in the pan before The Hero even knew I was in the kitchen. They were that good.

If you’re worried about the fat, you’ll be fine. Almonds are full of good fat and I cooked them with just a little bit of olive oil, which is also good for you. Go ahead. Indulge.

Vanilla Almonds

  • 1 cup raw almonds
  • Vanilla salt, to taste (I used about 1 teaspoon)

Coat a small pan with olive oil and heat over medium-high heat.  Here’s how much oil I used:
Vanilla Almonds (1)

Add the almonds and stir until almonds are coated and warm, about 5 minutes,. Add vanilla salt and cook an additional 2 minutes or until fragrant or golden brown. Allow to cool and store in an airtight container.

Vanilla Almonds

Leave a Reply

