Vanilla Salt

Vanilla Salt

So about a month or so ago, I bought flavored finishing salts. Since then, I’ve used up all of the vanilla salt. At first, I had no idea what to do with the vanilla salt. Then it dawned on me to use it in baking. And after that to use it in sweet dishes like pancakes and waffles. And THEN on homemade snacks. Next thing I knew, it was gone and I died a little inside.

While cleaning out the spice cabinet, I found a lone vanilla bean in a jar. It was so sad and spoke to me. It begged to be made into vanilla salt. After living on the top shelf in the summer, it was really craving some action. So I indulged its request. I learned from my mistakes with the other flavored salts I made and decided to go the air dry route instead of writing that you should do it while I pop mine in the oven and destroy the flavor I wanted. This time, I’m being straight with you. I actually did it this way and it came out great.

Vanilla Salt

  • 1/4 cup sea salt
  • 1/2 vanilla bean

1. Pour salt into a glass container. Set aside.

2.  Cut the vanilla bean lengthwise and scrape out the seeds. DIce the pod into small pieces. Add to the salt mixture and shake vigorously. Stir any clumps of vanilla beans to distribute through the salt. Spread in a single layer on a plate and let dry overnight. Store in an airtight container.

Vanilla Salt (2)

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

