Rosemary & Sage Hair Tea

Rosemary Sage Hair Tea

The day before my birthday I finished taking down all my locs. It was a seven-day, 50+ hour journey, but well worth it.

Until I washed my hair.

The tugging and pulling from delocking (like how I made up that word?) left me with EXTREMELY thin hair. I don’t know why I didn’t expect that, but I really didn’t expect it. I wanted to cry, but I womaned up and realized that I made a choice and with proper care, my hair would be fine. It was simply time to figure out a regimen that would help me grow the full head of hair I remembered from the pre-loc natural era.

I started researching natural remedies that I could use to help my hair out. I began taking biotin supplements thanks to a post from Jessica on Bows & Sequins. While I can’t say I notice a difference in my hair, my nails are in much better shape. I’m going to assume great things are happening on my head too.

I also read about hair teas. Rosemary and sage are used to promote hair growth. According to Camp Wander, rosemary cleanses, strengthens and nourishes hair follicles and encourages growth.  It will also make my pesky hairline grays less noticeable. Coco & Creme says sage helps stimulate hair growth and also has antibacterial properties. My scalp needs all the help it can get.

I didn’t have either essential oil on hand, but I DID have the herbs and decided to make the hair tea. Instead of using it as a rinse, I put it in a spray bottle to mist my hair when styling my now teeny-weeny afro (TWA). So far, I absolutely love how it makes my hair feel and the scent reminds me of Thanksgiving.

Rosemary & Sage Hair Tea

  • 1 bunch rosemary (about 4 or 5 full sprigs)
  • 1 bunch sage (about 4 or 5 full stalks)
  • 20 ounces distilled or filtered water

1. Combine the water and herbs in a medium pot. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and boil about 10 minutes.

2. Remove the tea from the heat and let steep for 30 minutes. Once cooled, pour into a jar or spray bottle. You can store extra in the refrigerator for up to two weeks.

After using it daily, along with my Curls hair products, here’s now my hair looks today. Ignore the stubborn, thick, straight gray hair that refuses to curl.

Rosemary Sage Hair Tea (3)

Leave a Reply

