Homemade Sloppy Joes

Homemade Sloppy JoesI apologize in advance for this post. I’m posting from my phone using the  WordPress app.

Anyhow, I made these sloppy joes by mistake. I had a taste for them, but when I picked up the Manwich can and read the ingredients I wasn’t impressed. The first two ingredients were sugar of some sort. So I decided to make my own from scratch.

The recipe is super easy. It took less than 15 minutes from start to finish. I had mashed potatoes on hand and decided to heat them in a skillet to brown the top and bottom before heaping on a helping of sloppy joe meat. Such an excellent combination.

Homemade Sloppy Joes

1 pound ground turkey or beef
1/2 medium onion, diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
2 cups canned diced tomatoes with liquid
1/4 cup barbecue sauce (I used Open Pit Sweet Chipotle
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
Salt and pepper to taste

Cook meat on medium high heat in a large pan until almost done, about 7 minutes. Add onion and pepper and cook an additional 3 minutes.

Add tomatoes, Worcestershire and barbecue sauces. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to medium low. Let simmer for 5 minutes or until liquid is reduced. Serve over potatoes or on buns.

5 thoughts on “Homemade Sloppy Joes

  1. This post looked fine on my phone. The only difference I noticed was the notification I get from Tumblr was a bit more like an in-text citation/quote rather than filling the page. I may not have even noticed it if I hadn’t read the disclaimer. I heart technology.

Leave a Reply

