White Bean Patties

White Bean Patties

As part of my whole new food experience, I’ve been trying new vegetarian ‘burger’ recipes. In respect to the cows that die for real burgers, I’ll call them patties. A moment of silence for cows.

Before I decided to try new patties, my experience was limited strictly to a mass-produced veggie burger. I could never replicate a flavorful, moist patty at home, so I gave up on it. Literally. I would have a taste for veggie patties, but the thought of spending $10 for a box of Boca burgers never left me feeling all that great. So I decided to try new recipes and edit as necessary.

This recipe is from Paula Deen. I know she’s lost a lot of weight, but my mind clearly tells me that if it’s from Paula, it’s good. Like, there’s NO WAY humanly possible her test kitchen staff can jack something up. And, once again, I wasn’t let down.

Before I give you the recipe, these patties are pan-fried. You could adapt the recipe for the oven, but you’ll probably need to adjust the wet ingredients so your patties aren’t dry and gross.

Since I was feeling particularly lazy, I used part breadcrumbs and part croutons for the breadcrumbs in this recipe. Feel free to use whatever you have on hand.

White Bean Patties
adapted slightly from Paula Deen

  • ¼ onion, finely chopped
  • ½ red, yellow, or orange bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 cup finely chopped spinach
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 2 (15 ounce) cans white beans, drained and rinsed
  • ¾ cup breadcrumbs
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a small pan, saute the onion and bell pepper for about 3 minutes. Add the spinach and cook for 1 minute. Add garlic and cook another minute. Remove from heat and let cool.

Add drained beans to food processor and pulse until pasty and chunky, about six pulses. If the mixture is too dry, add about a tablespoon of liquid and pulse once or twice. Add to a medium bowl. Mix in egg and breadcrumbs. Add onion mixture.

Form into six patties and freeze about 20 minutes to set the patties. Once set, coat the bottom of a medium with oil. Pan fry the patties for 3 minutes or until brown. Flip and cook until brown. Drain on paper towels and serve warm.

2 thoughts on “White Bean Patties

  1. This looks great. I just made a white bean patty flavored with sun-dried tomatoes and basil. They are fantastic and the recipe is on my blog!

Leave a Reply

