Shrimp Patties with Corn & Tomato Salsa

Shrimp Cakes

Ah yes. Seafood. It’s my favorite food in the whole world. Actually, I should say shrimp is my favorite. Not all seafood. Shrimp. 

Anyhow, I saw this recipe in my inbox and thought ‘let me check this out!’. First off, I’d never heard of a shrimp cake before, so that alone intrigued me. And of course there was the magical ingredient: shrimp. I read the recipe and figured I’d try it. The worst case scenario is I’d hate the texture, but really, anything with shrimp in it works for me.

When I use shrimp in recipes now, I buy them raw. I typically find that I can get larger shrimp for the same money and it tastes completely different. Peeling them gives me the creeps, but for that wonderful shrimpy flavor, a few slimy peels and shrimp poo is totally worth it. Plus, I can do a thorough job cleaning BEFORE it’s cooked rather than after. 

The salsa is really easy to make. Dice up some tomatoes and onions, add corn, lime juice and salt to your personal taste. You can also buy pico de gallo pre-made and use that to save some time.

If you have them, use gloves to form the patties. The shrimp paste is really sticky otherwise.

Shrimp Patty with Tomato & Corn Salsa
with minor changes from Skinnytaste.com

  • 6 medium scallions, chopped 
  • 2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons whole wheat bread crumbs
  • 3/4 teaspoon Paula Deen’s House seasoning
  • 2 Serrano peppers, seeded and minced (for spicy, leave the seeds)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 pound raw shrimp, peeled and deveined

Add the scallions, cilantro, bread crumbs, seasoning, Serrano pepper and garlic to a large bowl.

Dry the shrimp and place in a food processor. Pulse a few times until almost pasty.

Add the shrimp to the bread crumb mixture. mix well with your hands. Shape into four patties.

Heat a pan or griddle on medium-high heat. Coat with olive oil. Add the patties to the pan and cook for four minutes without turning. Flip the patties and cook an additional four minutes. Top with tomato and corn salsa.

Shrimp Patty

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

