Flavored Salts

Flavored Salt

This week, I decided to incorporate a new way of thinking about food into my life in a real, workable way. I committed to buying as many organic foods as my budget allows and eat smaller portions supplemented by tea and water. So far, it’s been working pretty well.

As with most new things I start, I am always overzealous. When I was shopping at the Greener Grocer, I picked up this collection of flavored salts:

didi davis food Salt Blend Collection

I balked at the price at first, but the nice clerk talked me into it by saying how good they were. So I bit the bullet and bought them. They are great and add nice flavor to the salmon I baked and quinoa. And the combinations are cool. Who knew vanilla salt would taste good? But at $25, I don’t think I’ll be buying it on a regular basis.

That’s when it occurred to me to make a few combinations of my own. I’ll tell you that I didn’t do ANY research when I made mine and soon found out that I probably should have measured it. Eh… it’s done now. Anyway, I had oranges and lemons on hand and decided to use the zest to flavor salt. If you want to know, I really used the whole zest and added it to…. some amount of salt. I know, not good for the blog. But, here’s the recipe I like best for when I make a lime cilantro version.

Flavored Salt
from Eat Simply, Eat Well

  • 1/2 cup sea salt
  • 1 tbsp citrus zest

Combine the citrus zest and salt. Spread in an even layer onto a clean dinner plate and let air dry overnight. Store in an airtight container. Don’t forget to label it.

Flavored Salt

I made these little shell plates with pendants I had in my bead box and two of the focal beads from this necklace.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

