The Great Granola Saga

Simple Granola

Okay, so it’s not really a saga, but it’s a long time coming.

I tried making granola once before and it was an epic fail. By the time it cooled down, it was like eating a handful of river rocks. Yuck!

I put the whole granola-making idea in the back of my mind. Of course, that’s when every food blogger on the planet started sending out complex granola recipes and would so cutely and kindly state at the end “this recipe is so easy to make and you can customize it to your tastes.”

Um… yeah… you won’t trick me again.

I was randomly cruising the Internet one day looking for ways to jazz up breakfast and came across the most basic granola recipe ever. There were no dried fruits. Not seven varieties of nuts and/or seeds. No fancy agave nectar or purely all-natural, straight-from-the-Earth ingredients. Just oats, seeds, oil, and honey.  That I could do.

Of course I didn’t have the seeds in the recipe so I just switched them out for flax seeds. And added cinnamon. And then I had to add a little brown sugar because, well, cinnamon just didn’t seem right without it.

I had created the ultimate Heroine granola. It was great. I could add other stuff to it like almonds or raisins, but it would be on a ‘do I want it?’ basis. I liked the flexibility.

I made it about two weeks ago and it’s still good. It’s good as cereal, mixed with yogurt and fresh fruit, or by the handful. I have big plans to try making oatmeal cookies with it this weekend. 

This recipe is so easy to make. You can customize it to your own tastes. Sorry…. I couldn’t help myself.

Simple Granola

  • 2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup flax seeds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup vegetable or canola oil

Preheat oven to 300 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

Combine the oats, flax seeds, cinnamon and brown sugar in a large bowl. Add the honey and oil, making sure to coat all the dry ingredients.

Spread the oat mixture onto the baking sheet in a single layer. Bake for about 10 minutes or until lightly browned.

Stir, breaking up any large clumps, and bake an additional five minutes or until granola is golden brown. Remove baking sheet from oven and using the edges of the parchment paper, remove the granola from the pan. Cool to room temperature on the parchment paper. Store in an airtight container.

 

Yogurt Granola Parfait

2 Comments

  1. Oh yum Deauna! I love granola but am kinda picky about it. I prefer granola that doesn’t have too much stuff in it…so this recipe sounds perfect for me. I’ve been looking for a recipe to try since it’s so darn expensive at the market.
    As always, I love your writing style and easy-to-follow recipe posts.

    Have a wonderful day girl!
    xo – Marion

    1. Thanks, Marion. I think the price in the store is what made me decide to try it again. That and the fact that I know how much of everything goes into the recipe. I’m starting to find that my favorite foods I make at home really don’t taste like the my favorite foods I buy at restaurants or the grocery store.

Leave a Reply

