Red Wine Strawberry Salad Dressing

Strawberry Salad Dressing

This post is the result of two different inspirations: freelance writing and my almost fanatical preoccupation with eating as many fruits and vegetables as I can every day.

About a month ago, I started writing freelance articles on a wide range of topics. Of course, I try to pick projects about things that I find interesting. Last week, I wrote all the barbecue articles and recipes I could get my hands on. You know, in preparation for Memorial Day.

On the fanatical healthy side, I’ve been working on breaking out of eating the same things over and over and over again. There are so many different ways to eat fruits and vegetables and I’ve been experimenting with using both in different ways. My favorite meals right now are salads. I like them plain. With cheese. With other vegetables. Chopped. Shredded. With meat. With corn salsa and pico de gallo. It goes on and on.

Last night, I wasn’t in the mood for fancy though and since I stopped buying dressing for myself, but wanted some on my salad, I had to come up with something I could make quickly. I opened the fridge and saw some strawberries that were headed for a slow, wilty death. I also had a little red wine left from the day before (it was a long, hard day) and balsamic vinegar. Grabbed the olive oil and my trusty Ninja and got to work.

This. Dressing. Turned. Out. Fantastic. Seriously. It’s so good that I may substitute it for the ginger sesame one I always make. And that’s saying a lot.

I’m in the process of weaning myself off sugar so I didn’t add any to this recipe, but feel free to add some if you want. It’s seriously okay and acceptable. Trust me.  This recipe will make enough for two to three salads depending on how liberally you use it. If you use a blender or food processor, your dressing will look creamy like the picture. If you want more of a vinaigrette texture, whisk the ingredients together by hand.

Red Wine Strawberry Dressing

  • 2 ounces fresh strawberries (if you use frozen, thaw them first)
  • 2 tbsp red wine
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • salt, to taste
  • pepper, to taste
  • sugar, to taste (optional)

1. Puree the strawberries

2. Add the remaining ingredients and whisk until combined. Serve immediately or chill. Store leftovers in the refrigerator.

Strawberry Salad Dressing

Leave a Reply

