How to Clean Leather Naturally

All-Natural Leather Cleaner

Spring has FINALLY arrived! At least I hope it has.

Anyway, it’s time to put the boots up and get out the sandals and strappy shoes. While I was going through my closet I noticed that my riding boots were crusted with salt.

Leather Cleaner

I know I haven’t worn them in months and I meant to clean them when I came home, but it apparently slipped my mind. As we’re not real leather-shoe-cleaning people, I couldn’t find anything in the house to get the salt off.

Enter good old research. I came across a natural remedy: two parts water to one part white vinegar.

Before you start applying the mixture to your shoes, do a spot test first. I just wouldn’t feel right if you messed up your favorite shoes.

Clean Your Leather Naturally

  1. Mix 1 part white vinegar into 2 parts warm water.
  2. Dip a folded paper towel into the mixture and treat a small area of your leather to test. If everything is okay, take a clean cloth and buff the area dry.
  3. Continue cleaning your leather in small sections. After you’re finished, let it dry for at least 30 minutes before wearing. Check your leather to see if you missed any spots.
  4. You can polish your leather at this point to provide extra protection for winter or store them and polish before you wear them again.

All-Natural Leather Cleaner

Leave a Reply

