DIY Flower Preserver

Last week, I bought flowers just because. Actually, that’s kinda not true. I got flowers at work and they brightened my week so much that I bought flowers for the house when I went grocery shopping.

Of course, the little packet of flower food wasn’t enough to fill the bottles-now-vases I wanted to use to display the flowers in. That’s when I decided to make my own. And also to conduct an experiment (I think I was a scientist in some former life).

I put one flower into a container full of prepared preserver, one in half prepared and half DIY preserver and the last one in all DIY preserver.

This is the end of Day 1:

DIY Flower Preserver

They’re all looking healthy and bright.

And finally, Day 7:

DIY Flower Preserver

After seven days (without changing the water or trimming the ends), the commercial preserver held up better than the DIY one. I think the bleach would have made a big difference, so don’t skip it.

If you want to make your own preserver, here’s the recipe I used. The original called for bleach, but I didn’t have it on hand, so I left it out.

DIY Flower Preserver

  • 1 quart warm water
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 tsp household bleach

Why not try it on your flowers? And don’t forget to enter the giveaway for a $300 Home Depot or PayPal gift card so you can plant your own flowers to display in your home.

Leave a Reply

