D4: DIY Sports Drink for Champions

DIY Sports Drink mix

I am participating in the Colorpalooza here in June to celebrate my birthday. Initially, I was going to walk the 3-mile course, but the closer it gets, the more I feel like getting my run on.

I started training three weeks ago since I typically don’t really exercise between October and March. I needed to build my outdoor running back up and after a few weeks on the treadmill, I decided to hit the trail at the park.

Unfortunately, I’m that person who isn’t riled up by exercise. I don’t feel energized. Typically, I want to take a nap as soon as I get home which is why you’ll never see me at 6 a.m. spinning classes again.

I digress. I knew I wouldn’t be able to sleep away the day. Lately I’ve also been mindful of what I’m eating and drinking and didn’t want to buy Propel or Gatorade after my run. So I made my own sports drink.

The purpose of sports drinks are re-hydration. The typical mix includes sugar, baking soda and salt. Um… yeah…. I wasn’t too thrilled about it, but if WebMd and Dr. Oz give similar recipes for re-hydration mixes, I figure I can try it.

I made my first batch exactly as written. It was not the least bit tasty, but I did feel 100% better than when I drink water alone. Of course, I started doctoring the ingredients and came up with something a little more palette pleasing and super easy to make.

DIY Sports Drink

  • 4 cups water
  • 3 Tbl sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp powdered drink mix (I used cherry Kool-Aid)

Mix all ingredients together and drink. Best served chilled.

Be sure to mark your sports drink. Kool-Aid drinkers will not be happy if they accidentally get this instead of glass of sugary Kool-Aid goodness.

Leave a Reply

