Cornmeal Biscuits

Cornmeal Biscuits

A year or two ago, I had these awesome jalapeno cheddar biscuits at Surly Girl. I remembered thinking how different they were than any other biscuit I’d had before. Back then, I wasn’t blogging about food and I certainly wasn’t adventurous enough to try to make them on my own. I decided that I could pay the $1 per biscuit and call it a day.

Fast forward to 2013. The Hero and I went to Surly Girl for lunch. I had forgotten about  my biscuit love until I saw it winking at me on the menu. I had to try them again because I was up for the challenge of trying to recreate  them. And in the name of research, I would eat as many as I needed to figure out how to make them.

Believe it or not, The Hero was the one who figured out the secret. When he said it tasted like a cornbread biscuit, I knew exactly where to start. My Martha Stewart cookbook had a recipe for… cornmeal drop biscuits. Of course there were no jalapeno or cheddar variations, so I just winged it with Serrano peppers and pepper jack cheese and they came out fantastic.

Then I wondered what the recipe would taste like without the cheese and peppers. Um…. awesome. I whipped up some cinnamon butter and that was all she wrote. Since finding and tweaking the recipe two weeks ago, I’ve made these biscuits three times. The  cheese and pepper biscuits went well with chili and I plan to eat plain biscuits for breakfast this week. If I can resist them that is.

Cornmeal Biscuits
adapted from The Martha Stewart Living Cookbook The New Classics

  • 1½  cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup fine yellow cornmeal
  • 2½  teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons sugar
  • ½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cold, cut into small pieces
  • ¼ cup yogurt
  • ¾ cup milk
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside. In a medium bowl, combine  flour, cornmeal, baking powder, salt and sugar. Using a pastry blender, cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
  2. Add the yogurt and milk and stir until combined.
  3. Using and ice cream scoop, drop biscuits on parchment-lined cookie sheet about 1″ apart. Bake until biscuits start to brown, about 20 minutes. Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack. Serve warm.

Cornmeal Biscuits

Serrano Pepper and Pepper Jack Variation

  1. Dice one Serrano pepper and set aside. Grate half a block of pepper jack cheese (4 ounces) and set aside.
  2. Add the pepper and cheese after the milk and yogurt. Stir to combine. Proceed with the rest of the recipe as written.
3 Comments

Leave a Reply

