Gratitude for a Busy Life

Image

This week has been ridiculously busy for me. I started a new freelance writing gig, have the regular gig, am continuing research on and how to build a self-sustaining gig and have been taking classes to pull it all together. On top of that, The Kid is going to Prom this weekend. You’d think I was going because I’m more excited than a kid on Christmas morning. Needless to say, with all of that, plus the workouts, baking and crafting have been on hold while I adjust to a more hectic life.

Through all of the mental and physical running around though, I had a moment of complete gratitude. The Hero has been super supportive while I figure out how to manage the extra projects I’ve undertaken. Yesterday he ate boiled kale and leftover quinoa for dinner without saying a word. Don’t worry though. He’s also enjoyed a couple batches of chocolate chip cookies I baked out of guilt for neglecting to actually feed him a real meal in the last week.

My friends haven’t sent me guilt text messages or made comments about not calling. When I reach out for help and support, they are always there to do whatever they can to help me along. I love them too and miss them.

And then there are the kids. The Kid is, well, The Kid. He didn’t realize that we haven’t hung out in two (is it three?) weekends. All he knows is that I’ll be there for him Friday and that’s enough. The Girl is the same way. We had awesome quality time this weekend that I treasure because I know there will be a day when she’ll want to scratch my eyes out (and vice versa). God gave me some of the best kids ever. Smart, low-maintenance, and self-sufficient for the most part.

Hopefully, I’ll have everything back on track before Friday and you’ll get to try one of the new recipes I made prior to this explosion of activity, but didn’t photograph. In the meantime, thanks for all the support while I work through my new schedule.

Leave a Reply

